Book Review: The Great Eight: How to Be Happy (Even When You Have Every Reason to be Miserable)

My latest choice from Thomas Nelson was Scott Hamilton’s The Great Eight: How to be Happy (Even When You Have Every Reason Not to Be)

I’ve grown up watching figure skating. Despite thinking I knew a lot about the affable Scotty Hamilton, I actually knew very little about him. I thoroughly enjoyed learning that he was adopted, that ice skating was the cure to a mysterious childhood illness, and all the ins and outs of the skating world.

Each point on how to be happy is tied into ice skating. Although I am not a skater at all, I was able to understand each point and the allusion to the skating world thanks to Scott’s clear elucidation and explanation of skating terminology.

Scott has no problem poking fun or laughing at himself, which makes his book a lot more transparent than I expected. I thoroughly enjoyed laughing through reading about his experience with Will Ferrell while taping “Blades of Glory”, where Scott played his announcer self.

Although there were no startling revelations or secret keys to becoming happy revealed in the book, I definitely enjoyed Scott’s easy-to-read and very uplifting book on happiness. Anyone who has enjoyed watching or participating in ice skating in any way, shape, or form would appreciate receiving or reading this book.

Leave a Reply

