Kidthology

I remember celebrating Mother’s Day by making a card and walking up to the front of the church at the end of the service and receiving a carnation to give to my mom. I also remember when I was older singing a Motherized version of “O Beautiful for Spacious Skies”, with much pomp and hilarious drama as my brothers and I put our hands over our hearts, faced mom, and sang as LOUDLY as we could. In church. Poor mom.

Now that I’m 7 years into being a mom and my brood has expanded to 4, I’m more and more grateful to my mother as I realize how hard this job is. I’m so thankful that I had a tremendous example set for me to try to attain to. And I realize that no cards, jewels, flowers, or meals out could ever begin to match the gifts I’ve already been given.

May 5, 2003
The day I met my firstborn, Liam Daniel.
 

November 8, 2004.
A little girl joins our family, Ellison Jennaye

April 17, 2006.
Addison Mabel makes number 3.

July 14, 2009
I first lay eyes on Taye Abdiel.

I woke up this morning feeling overwhelmingly blessed. I have been given more than I deserve. My life is bursting with color, sound, love, and  fullness. Being a mom is the hardest job I’ve ever had, and yet it’s the best because of the little people I get to work for every minute of every day (and sometimes night).

My dear little (& big) Scotts Tots, I love you guys more than you’ll ever know. Thanks for giving me context.

Love,
Mom

Leave a Reply

