Moved

After the adoption, we began to feel so settled into life that we were unsettled. We felt like we were on the cusp of something but didn’t quite know what. All of a sudden we were being cautious making decisions about things way in the future without really knowing quite why.

Dan is constantly being “recruited”, but we’ve always said “no” and never pursued any of the requests. Last fall, however, he was contacted by a church in Georgia and for the first time we felt like we shouldn’t immediately say no. We kept it very hush, hush as it wasn’t anything more than a “feeler”, but as time went by we got more and more excited at the opportunity.

We made the trip to Georgia to visit the church and check things out. By the end of our visit, we were feeling like it would be doing the same thing in a different place and not so sure it was worth uprooting the family for.

But over four fish dinners in a little wooden booth the night before we flew back to Michigan, things changed radically for us. We were invited to share a meal with what felt like “spiritual parents” to us–a husband a wife team in ministry together (also raising four kids) who were passionate about God, the Church and family, and grounded in why they do what they do. We knew right away that this was worth moving for and that this ministry was a perfect fit for us.

One month later God sold our house in Michigan before we even put it on the market. The kids and I moved in with my parents in Oklahoma for the month of July where the kids learned to swim while Dan traveled hither and yon hosting some summer camp KidJam sessions.

God wowed us by providing us with a silly amount of room in a brand spanking new tabula rasa of a house at the 11th hour.

Thanks to friends driving down from Michigan, we are moved in and organized. Home. Paint and decorations will have to wait until 2012 or beyond…we’re functioning and that’s all that matters for now. Just 13 after arriving in Georgia, the older three kids started school and after Labor Day Taye will go to preschool three half-days a week.

Dan’s head is in the game at work and I’m trying to balance jumping into community, finding friends, figuring out where I belong, but most of all helping the kids transition.
The new school isn’t the old school with all of its familiar family and friends and teachers and schedules, so I’m doing my utmost to try to make sure homelife for the kids is structured and that they get everything they need and deserve from me in the five hours a day I get to have them during the week.

We have no idea what the next 12 months will look like, but God has never let us down when we’ve followed a call in our lives.

When I get shaken seeing mullets and rattails at school, being warned about snake sightings in the neighborhood, hearing the new neighbor kids shout “Oh my God” incessantly, watching a woman turn her entire body away from Taye and I in the grocery store due to his skin color, crying in loneliness or heartbroken about something that happened to one of the kids at school, I cling even more to Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and NOT to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Other than the fact that we are family and meant to be together, I’m not sure why 5/6 of this family is here in Cumming, GA. YET. I know it will just take some time for us to find our context. And that God is planning to WOW us as we continue to seek His will and serve Him here in the south.

20110816-023230.jpg

3 thoughts on “Moved”

  1. You’ll find your way. I’m still trying to find some of those things a year later in Minneapolis…but I haven’t quit trying!! I feel like I did all those things you are doing as a mom right now and everyone is thriving and in their place…now it’s my turn to find mine this year…excited to see where He is taking me while finally feeling like I can let loose a little and explore. A friend told me when I moved last year it takes a good year to feel settled…she was spot on…once we hit a year, everyone was in a groove and happy in their place in life!! You are an awesome wife and mom. You are doing all the right things. Keep praying…God has AMAZING plans for you too! One of the first things I did when I moved was join a bible study. You know you can relate to anyone who wants to know the Lord in a more intimate way!!

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Lu. I’m SO impatient, I hate the “it’ll just take time” part. I am one to try to expedite EVERYTHING. Searching for a Bible study group, but also feeling that God might be calling to START one. gulp. Hello, Ninevah!

Leave a Reply

