The slamming door

One evening I told Taye it was time for his bath and instructed him to go get clean underwear and pajamas from his bedroom in preparation for said bath.

He went to his room as I began to run the bathwater. All of a sudden I heard and felt a house-shaking SLAM! followed by him muttering through clenched teeth, “I don’t wanna take a bath…I. Wanna. Play”.

I gently and with a kind heart THREW open his bedroom door and gently and with a kind heart confronted him.

ME:  “WHY did you slam the door?”

TAYE: “Because.”

ME:  “Slamming doors in this family is unacceptable. When mommy tells you it’s time for a bath, you don’t get angry and slam the door. You simply obey.”

TAYE: “Why?”

ME:  “Because that’s called obeying. The Bible tells us we are to be obedient and do what we are told to do with a happy heart.”

Although I think the Biblical basis of the theory behind  lessons like this are often lost on our 3, almost-four year old, I still tell him anyway in the hopes that maybe a slight modicum of understanding will sink in some day. I truly believe that God’s word will not return void, and using scripture to explain to our kids why we do what we do and why we are instructing them the way we are is a valid and wise way to parent. Jesus quoted scripture in answer to tough questions all the time!

As a consequence to his action (of slamming the door) he had to practice opening and closing his bedroom door quietly and gently 100 times. I started with 20, but that was all fun and games to him, so I had to up the ante in order to get the point across.

I think it was a bit more of a punishment for me to have to sit and supervise, but it seems to have done the trick. He’s gotten mad since over a few things, but he has yet to slam the door again.

Most of my posts will likely be about Mr. T. He is by far my most challenging child. But I’m determined that a lot of love, thought, care, logic, consistency, and determination will eventually get through to him. As well as him someday asking Jesus into his heart. When that happens, I know there will be an inexplicable change in this little guy’s heart, mind, attitude and actions. And believe you me when I say I am praying daily and cannot wait for that day.

 4 Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one.[a] 5 Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. 7Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:4-9

Leave a Reply

