Keeping up on our ABC’s this summer…Bible verse style

The kids’ teachers have all been emphasizing how important it is to keep the kids reading, thinking, learning, and reviewing over the summer. I’ve got summer school binders all set and ready to go, but after a conversation that revolved around making sure we choose to read, look at, and think about things that are good, and lovely, and pure, and true etc with my daughter’s *gasp* public school teacher yesterday, (yes, you can talk about God and the Bible in public school) I was inspired to add this activity to our summer curriculum. It’ll be a challenge to ALL of us, myself included! I found a list of verses online, then changed quite a few to throw in some we’ve already learned, or that I really want my kids to have hidden in their hearts.

Our challenge: to have all of these memorized by the end of the summer!

A ll have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23
B elieve on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved. -Acts 16:31
C hildren, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right. -Ephesians 6:1
D epart from evil, and do good; seek peace and pursue it. -Psalm 34:14
E ven a child is known by his actions, by whether his conduct is pure and right. -Proverbs 20:11
F ear not: for I am with you. -Isaiah 43:5
G od is love. -1 John 4:8
H e who walks with the wise grows wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm. -Proverbs 13:20
I n my Father’s house are many rooms, if it were not so I would have told you. I am going to prepare a place for you. -John 14:2
J esus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life: no one comes to the Father, except through me.” -John 14:6
K eep your tongue from evil and your lips from speaking lies. -Psalm 34:13
L ove the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. -Deuteronomy 6:5
M any are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. -Proverbs 19:21
N o one can serve two masters. -Matthew 6:24
O give thanks to the Lord; for He is good. His love endures forever. -Psalm 118:1
P ray continually. -1 Thessalonians 5:17
a Q uiet answer turns away wrath but a harsh word stirs up anger. -Proverbs 15:1
epay no one evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody. -Romans 12:17
S eek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. -Matthew 6:33
T rust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6
U nto you, O Lord, we give thanks, for your Name is near; men tell of your wonderful deeds. -Ps 75:1
V erily verily, I say to you, he who believes in me will have everlasting life. -John 6:47
W hen I am afraid, I will trust in you. -Psalm 56:3
EX cept a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of heaven. -John 3:3
Y ou are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden -Matthew 5:14
Z ion hears, and rejoices. -Psalm 97:8

(I haven’t printed and put these in the binders yet–so if you have any suggestions for changes–especially for “Z”–I am totally open to them, please share!)

4 thoughts on “Keeping up on our ABC’s this summer…Bible verse style”

    1. That “H” verse really spoke to me when we did our small group intro. I want my kids to use it as they choose who they are friendly with, and who they are friends with. If you’d like a copy on a “cute sheet of paper”…I’ll have Dan design something and get it printed and to you. 🙂 You’re more awesome.

  1. The Fulk Four are gonna love these…thanks! And I typed in just a “z” on Bible Gateway and found this interesting one–Luke 1:13–starting kinda mid-verse…”Zechariah, because your prayer has been heard. Your wife Elizabeth will bear you a son, and you will name him John.”

    1. Go Fulk Four! Love it when our kids get a “team name”. The Scotts Tots are gonna love this challenge. I like that verse a lot, too. Gave me chills reading it. How’s that jars Bible study coming along?

Leave a Reply

