dreaming about dinner

543892_577792752247550_1322562679_n

Last night I attended a local event hosted by a business where you purchase and gather to assemble uncooked meals to take home and freeze until you’re ready to use them.

I heart being in the kitchen, so I was all about this event. What I’m not so fond of is strangers and the awkward mixer thing. I’ve been living in a land of strangers since our move to GA, and I’m tired of hearing myself introduce myself and tell my story over and over and over…

So I reached out to the few people I’ve met here (mainly my husband’s co-workers at ReThink) and they quickly jumped on board. Like sold out our entire time slot within hours of registration opening!

As we talked about booking an event for the ensuing month, I heard some undercurrents of the wish for healthy, home-cooked meals but no time (or desire) to shop and prep these coveted meals. And the amount of laughter, fun and banter in our group was off da charts, yo.

I’ve actually been tossing around the idea of a monthly “supper club” of sorts where I open up my kitchen with its massive island to allow people to come do all the prep work for meals they can throw in the freezer. I just haven’t thought it all the way through or had the guts to ask anyone if they’re interested in doing it yet.

Friends from MI have this figured out and down to a science, but everyone I know down here works fulltime and doesn’t have as much “free time” to grocery shop or get together during the day while kids are at school. So I’ve got to figure out some other work-arounds to make this actually work out in context here.

Now I’m trying to decide whether to offer a special “girl time” and harbor fellowship together and we prep meals, or whether to just offer a simple meal preparation service where I get paid to do it all? (Also on the table: it’s already done when everyone gets here and  we just “pretend” we’re meal prepping when we’re really just sitting around in my orange living room talking about Downton Abbey…)

But after this event, I’m starting to think that my “supper club” idea isn’t as way off course as I was afraid it might be down here in the south. I just might be able to make something work. It’ll probably be different than I originally envisioned it, but it’s better to try and fail than to not try at all. Right?

What do you think?

11 thoughts on “dreaming about dinner”

  1. I’m starting to hear a bit about these supper clubs. Heard of one on the food network…woman in paris who rents out a flat for these intimate dinners…for like maybe even just 2 couples. Fantastic…like a B&B , but just for 1 meal.

  2. Jenna ~ I have a monthly Dinner Club with 8 of my girlfriends and we love it! Each month someone new hosts at their home and they pick a ‘theme’ for the dinner – Mexican, Italian, Mediterranean, tailgate, etc. The host cooks the main dish – typically a meat of sorts. Everyone else brings a side dish, dessert, appetizer or beverage, all prepared around the theme for that month. We have so much fun doing this and it’s a great night of fellowship with my ladies!

  3. I think I would love to participate in your supper club Jenna! 🙂 And I have always wanted to try one of those places that you went to last night. With two boys, I am always looking for quick meals in the evening.

    1. Jennifer–the event was so much fun, and I do feel awesome having 3 meals in my freezer. I think a lot of people would love to get together and prep and have meals…I just think it’d be even more fun to prep in my kitchen 😉 I was really missing out on “fresh” foods in their recipes, so I’d love to add that element. I’ll keep you posted and be sure to extend an invite when I get one put together!

  4. Yes, yes, YES!!!! Back in St.Louis, I was apart of a fresh veggie n fruit co-Op and I miss it greatly! Sorta loving the idea of picking something up ready to go! I’d totally be up for helping you prep meals in large quantity FYI! Do it!!!

    1. What I missed most at that event was the fresh foods. I need to join a co-op as I’ve not at all been happy with meats and produce here in GA…that’s part of my hesitation in doing something, I want better ingredients. Seems I have some research to do…will let you know when it’s all ready to go and would love to have you in my kitchen prepping! I grew up with 3 brothers, so the only way I know how to cook is in large quantities 🙂

  5. I LOVE this idea! I’ve read about people who do freezer meal exchange clubs, which also sounds really cool. I say think through this some more and then get the guts to ask someone (ahem) if they’d be interested. 😉 Oh, and I promise to give you ALL the credit when the idea comes to fruition. 😉

    1. My MI friends do the freezer meal exchange, but they’re mostly SAHM’s that get together during the day while their kids are at school to do it, they each bring the ingredients for the dishes they’re preparing and the containers as well and there’s no cost to anyone. I’d have to figure out some adjustments to make it work better for all my working mom friends here–maybe I’d do all the grocery and supply shopping ahead of time for a reasonable fee etc. Maybe there’d be a stocked freezer to grab some MRC’s (Meals Ready to Cook) as well…thinking, thinking, thinking…we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

