super words

imgresWhen my recording artist and (like, for realzies) rockstar friend, Jenna, commented on one of my blog posts that “your writing reminds me of my friend Sue Aughtmon“, I confess, I had to google her. Sue, that is, not Jenna 😉 And I’m SOOOOOO glad that I did!

She blogs about being a Tired Supergirl here and has authored three books, two of which I’ve been able to get out of my public library thanks to inter-library loan! (Her new one, I Blame Eve, is “too new” to be circulated via inter-library loan…but I’m counting down the days ’til I can burst through the library’s double doors, slowly and dramatically wield my library card high above my head, laugh maniacally, and nab that sucker!!!)

Last night I was physically tired after painting a hallway, mopping the floor, laundry & dishes, planning & cooking dinner, homework x 4 kids, and most physically challenging of all, a trip to Wal-Mart. And not the “good” one.

Toward the end of the evening when kids were in bed and I hopped on technology, and had a couple of “bad” e-mails waiting to pounce on me. I was feeling down, stressed, angry– lots of really toxic emotions that when mixed with exhaustion can end badly. So for the safety of the five other people in my house, I put myself to bed at 8:30 and pulled out “All I Need is Jesus and a Good Pair of Jeans: the Tired Supergirl’s Search for Grace“.

I was only going to read one chapter until I noticed that it’s already 1 day overdue at the library. I breathed like a woman in labor through another surge of anger and frustration at my lack of ability to return a book on time, put it all in a bubble and blew it all away, and just started to read.

Each chapter title was hitting me right where I’m at…”I sin a lot”, “I have anger issues”, “I am selfish”, “I am lonely”, “I don’t like to admit I am wrong”, “I am not sure of my purpose in life”…how could I stop reading when each chapter seemed to have been written about and TO me!?!

I am so thankful to have found this “friend” I’ve never met yet that seems to live a parallel life with mine (thank you for being honest in chapter 8–I’ve wrestled that one too…), and isn’t afraid to share about it candidly, but funnily. And always redeemingly lest we be tempted by “Pity Partyadora” to don our baggiest yoga pants and wallow in the mire of our shortcomings.

Even though I’ve not met Sue, (yet, I have a feeling our mutual Super Friend, Jenna, will figure out a way to orchestrate a meeting here on planet earth) she’s another author friend that I’m really thankful has taken the time to pen some authentic words to women to help us know that we are NOT alone in our journey. Knowing that I’m in the company of some really wise friends is pretty Super.

Proverbs 13:20 (The Message)

Become wise by walking with the wise;
hang out with fools and watch your life fall to pieces. 

4 thoughts on “super words”

  1. Nicely written. You have a very comforting writing style. It’s like taking a casual stroll through the mall when you have nothing you need to buy and nowhere you need to go.

    Keep up the good work.

    1. Wow. Thanks for the feedback. I love that word picture…although I think I’d like to eventually offer a product that brings people intentionally to the “mall” to fill a need rather than be content to stay the satisfying-ish stroll through. I’ll keep working…

Leave a Reply

